College Administration

Dean: Beate Schmittmann
Associate Dean: Arne Hallam
Associate Dean: Leslie Hogben
Associate Dean: Amy Slagell
Assistant Dean: Kent Kerby
Executive Assistant: Gaye Simonson
Program Coordinator: Stephanie Hamilton
Program Coordinator: Mary Ullestad-Heneke
Assistant to the Associate and Assistant Deans: Julie Palmer

Fiscal Operations

Fiscal Officer: Venita Currie
Fiscal Coordinator: Tony Arterberry
Fiscal Coordinator: Kristin Doerder
Fiscal Coordinator: Robin Jones
Fiscal Coordinator: Ann Laws
Fiscal Coordinator: Julie Roseman
Fiscal Coordinator: Katie Thorson

The People Finder tool, which lists individuals with roles affected by Workday and ISD, can be found here

Human Resources

Human Resources Officer: Stacy Kilstofte
Human Resources Coordinator: Jenny Grundmeier
Human Resources Coordinator: Mallory Hamilton
Human Resources Coordinator: Betsy Happe
Human Resources Coordinator: Christy Kadner
Human Resources Coordinator: Christine Cannon

The People Finder tool, which lists individuals with roles affected by Workday and ISD, can be found here

Student Enrollment, Advising, and Career Services

Director of Student Services: Jennifer Owens
Director of Enrollment Management: Kathy Houseman
Director of Transfer Relations, Outreach Adviser: Dan Rice
Director of Career Services: Taren Crow


Communications Director: Amy Juhnke
Communications Specialist: Angie Hagerty
Communications Specialist: Erin Halverson
Communications Specialist: Stacey Maifeld
Communications Specialist: Paula Van Brocklin
Graphic Designer: Keo Pierron
Graphic Designer: Britney Walters-Chester
Programmer/Analyst: Troy Rutter


Executive Director of Development: Michael Gens
Director of Development: Eric Bentzinger
Director of Development: Angeline Mather
Assistant Director of Development: Austin Rinker
Development Coordinator: Kara Tenney

Information Technology

IT Director: Andrew Albinger
IT Manager: Brent Moore
IT Manager: Jeff Lucas
Research IT Director: Levi Baber
Systems Support Specialist: Brad Dahlsten

LAS External Research Support (LASERS) Team

Grant Coordinator: Sandra Norvell

Student Academic Services

Advising Services

Director of Student Services: Jennifer Owens
Director of Transfer Relations, Outreach Adviser: Dan Rice
Academic Adviser: Bruce Allen
Academic Adviser: Mason Babcock
Academic Adviser: Autumn Cartagena
International Student Support Adviser: Suzanne Härle
Academic Adviser: Emily Olson
Academic Adviser: Kathleen Timmons
Academic Adviser: Elizabeth Zimmerman

Career Services

Director of Career Services: Taren Crow
Career Education Coordinator: Angela Wagner
Career Services Coordinator: Lexi Elliott
Career Advisor: Greg Ruckdaschel

International Student Support

International Student Support Adviser: Suzanne Härle

LAS Study Abroad

Study Abroad Adviser: Ginger Nally

Multicultural Student Support

Multicultural Liaison Officer: Christy Oxendine

Student Recruiting

Director of Enrollment Management: Kathy Houseman
Director of Transfer Relations, Outreach Adviser: Dan Rice
Recruitment Specialist, Mathematics & Statistics: Dawn Walker-Chalmers

Support Staff

Degree Audit Records/Classification: Sarah Frette
Data Management: Nancy Rosenquist
Office Receptionist: Melinda Howard
Office Receptionist: Tammy Blakeley
IT Staff

By Topic

Advancing LAS researchJo Anne Powell-Coffman
Budget ApprovalsArne Hallam
Budget TrackingVenita Currie
Career ServicesTaren Crow
Community College Articulation and Regents ConnectionsAmy Slagell
Continuous Improvement ProgramStephanie Hamilton
Costsharing and matching funds for grantsWolfgang Kliemann
Course Availability – Budget and PersonnelArne Hallam
Cross-Disciplinary Studies ProgramsAmy Slagell
Curriculum Committee ProcessesStephanie Hamilton
Curriculum DevelopmentAmy Slagell
Dean Schmittmann's CalendarGaye Simonson
Development/Fund RaisingMichael Gens
eData ReportsVenita Currie
External funding opportunitiesWolfgang Kliemann
External Reviews of LAS Programs – Policies and PlanningAmy Slagell
External Reviews of LAS Programs – SchedulesStephanie Hamilton
Faculty and staff awardsWolfgang Kliemann
Faculty AwardsMallory Hamilton
Faculty Professional Development AssignmentsWolfgang Kliemann
Faculty Sponsored Funding Orientation and OverviewSandra Norvell
Faculty start-upsWolfgang Kliemann
Faculty Start-upsBill Gutowski
Financial PoliciesVenita Currie
Foreign Travel GrantsMallory Hamilton
Funding for Lectures, ConferencesArne Hallam
GoldsheetsVenita Currie
Graduate Programs and PoliciesBill Gutowski
Graduate programs and policiesWolfgang Kliemann
Graduate Tuition ScholarshipsVenita Currie
Grant Writing & Sponsored Funding WorkshopsSandra Norvell
High impact activities for undergraduates including:Kent Kerby
Honors activitiesKent Kerby
How to Develop a Proposal to meet Funder GuidelinesSandra Norvell
How to Navigate the Internal ISU ApprovalsSandra Norvell
How to Prepare a Proposal Budget and Budget JustificationSandra Norvell
How to Submit a Proposal to an External Funding AgencySandra Norvell
Human ResourcesMallory Hamilton
Information TechnologyArne Hallam
Information Technology ProblemsCatt Tech
Interdisciplinary programs of research and scholarshipJo Anne Powell-Coffman
International ProgramsArne Hallam
InternshipsTaren Crow
Iowa State internal funding opportunitiesWolfgang Kliemann
LASCAC LAS Computer – AccountsVenita Currie
LASCAC LAS Computer – ProposalsArne Hallam
LAS CentersJo Anne Powell-Coffman
LeadershipKent Kerby
Learning Communities, Connections, FrontiersStephanie Hamilton
Learning Outcomes and AssessmentAmy Slagell
Matching Funds for GrantsBill Gutowski
Online and Distance EducationArne Hallam
Phi Beta KappaStephanie Hamilton
Postdoctoral policiesLeslie Hogben
Pre-award supportJo Anne Powell-Coffman
Promotion and Tenure PoliciesArne Hallam
Recruitment (Faculty and Staff)Mallory Hamilton
Recruitment (Students)Dan Rice
Recruitment (Students) – Experience Iowa State, Departmental Visits, LAS AmbassadorsDan Rice
Regents Committee on Educational RelationsAmy Slagell
Representative AssemblyGaye Simonson
ResearchKent Kerby
Research and Economic Development CouncilBill Gutowski
Research developmentWolfgang Kliemann
Research funding opportunitiesJo Anne Powell-Coffman
Research Funding OpportunitiesSandra Norvell
Research Grants and ContractsVenita Currie
Research grants and contracts policiesWolfgang Kliemann
Research Grants and Contracts PolicyBill Gutowski
ScholarshipsMary Ullestad-Heneke
Signature Research InitiativeBill Gutowski
Small GrantsBill Gutowski
Space and FacilitiesArne Hallam
Special Course FeesVenita Currie
Startup and large equipment fundingJo Anne Powell-Coffman
Student GrievancesAmy Slagell
Study abroadKent Kerby
Study AbroadGinger Nally
Sustainability and Green InitiativesArne Hallam
Undergraduate Certificate ProgramsAmy Slagell
To find faculty and staff in the college, use the ISU Directory.