Office of the Dean


Beate Schmittmann


Beate Schmittmann has served as dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at Iowa State University since April 2, 2012. She is leading several key Liberal Arts and Sciences initiatives to promote research, student success, and college advancement. Most notable among these are the college's Signature Themes, which build on existing strengths to grow and sustain an internationally competitive profile in selected research areas. Strategic faculty hiring, seed grant funding, and enhanced support for proposal writing form an integral part of these efforts. She also furthers LAS' reputation as a student-centered college through an integrated approach to student recruitment, academic advising, and career services, a focus on high quality teaching and innovative pedagogy, especially in the STEM fields, and efforts to support the success of traditionally underrepresented students. She has built a strong external relations effort, in which development, alumni relations, and strategic communications support and enhance one another.

Schmittmann is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, a Fellow of the American Physical Society and a winner of the organization's 2010 Jesse W. Beams Award. Her research interests focus on statistical and biological physics. She has authored or co-authored more than 100 peer-reviewed articles and one book.

Schmittmann earned a diploma (M.S.) in physics from RWTH Aachen University in her native Germany (1981), and a Ph.D. in physics from the University of Edinburgh, Scotland (1984). Prior to joining ISU, she was a member of the physics faculty at Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, since 1991 and served as the physics department chair since 2006.

Arne Hallam

Associate Dean

Administration: Budget, Personnel, Affirmative Action, Promotion and Tenure, Space, Miller Lecture Series, Computation Advisory Committee, Online and Distance Education, Study Abroad, and International Students and Scholars.

Arne Hallam is a Professor of Economics at Iowa State and has served as Associate Dean for Finance and Operations since 2009. He received his B.S. in agricultural economics from Brigham Young University (1977), and M.S. (1980) and PhD (1983) degrees in agricultural and resource economics from the University of California, Berkeley.

He joined the faculty of the economics department at Iowa State University in 1983. He served as chair of the Department of Economics from 2000-2009. He has been Associate Dean in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences since 2009. Dr. Hallam has served as major professor for 26 graduate students as a committee member for more then 100 additional students. He has taught 24 different courses since leaving graduate school including courses in economic theory, mathematical economics, agricultural economics, industrial organization, agricultural ethics, and global sustainability.

Dr. Hallam's research relates to the economics of agriculture, resources, the environment, energy, economies of size and scale, risk and uncertainty, and sustainability. In the college office, Arne works with budget and planning, promotion and tenure, human resources, space, information technology, online education, international programs, and course availability.

Personal Home Page

Contact for questions about:

  • Budget Approvals
  • Course Availability – Budget and Personnel
  • Funding for Lectures, Conferences
  • Information Technology
  • International Programs
  • LASCAC LAS Computer – Proposals
  • Online and Distance Education
  • Promotion and Tenure Policies
  • Space and Facilities
  • Sustainability and Green Initiatives

Leslie Hogben

Associate Dean

Leslie Hogben, Dio Lewis Holl Chair in Applied Mathematics and professor of mathematics, received her Ph.D. from Yale University in 1978. Her research is in linear algebra, graph theory, and applications. She has supervised more than 20 doctoral students and 4 postdoctoral scholars.

Contact for questions about:

  • Graduate programs and policies
  • Postdoctoral policies
  • Faculty and staff awards
  • Faculty Professional Development Assignments

Amy Slagell

Associate Dean

Amy Slagell earned her B.S.C. in communication at Ohio University in 1983. She earned her M.A. and Ph.D. in rhetoric and American public address at the University of Wisconsin and, before coming to Iowa as the director of the public speaking program in 1996, spent several years teaching in Birmingham, Ala. From 2006-2013 Amy led the Speech Communication Program in the Department of English. Her research explores contemporary public speaking pedagogy and 19th century public address with a particular focus on the impact of cultural and institutional structures that constrain the visibility and rhetorical choices of women as public speakers.

She has served as the Associate Dean for Academic Programs in the College since 2013.

Contact for questions about:

  • Curriculum Development
  • Cross-Disciplinary Studies Programs
  • Community College Articulation and Regents Connections
  • External Reviews of LAS Programs – Policies and Planning
  • Regents Committee on Educational Relations
  • Learning Outcomes and Assessment
  • Student Grievances
  • Undergraduate Certificate Programs

Wolfgang Kliemann

Interim Associate Dean

Wolfgang Kliemann, professor of Mathematics, received his Ph.D. in 1980 from the University of Bremen, Germany. He has served as department chair in the Department of Mathematics, associate dean for research for the college, and the university’s associate vice president for research. Since 1983 at Iowa State, he has received various awards for research and for teaching.

Contact for questions about:

  • Costsharing and matching funds for grants
  • External funding opportunities
  • Faculty and staff awards
  • Faculty Professional Development Assignments
  • Faculty start-ups
  • Graduate programs and policies
  • Iowa State internal funding opportunities
  • Research development
  • Research grants and contracts policies

Kent Kerby

Assistant Dean

Dr. Kerby is an Adjunct Associate Professor of Genetics, Development and Cell Biology. He received his Ph.D. in genetics at the University of Alberta in Edmonton (1986). He was a postdoctoral fellow at the DOE-Plant Research Lab at Michigan State University, a faculty member and Chair of the Department of Biology at Elmhurst College, a visiting professor at the Risoe National Laboratories in Roskilde, Denmark and Director of STEM, Associate Director of Biology at Kansas State University.

Dr. Kerby joined the college as Assistant Dean in 2017.

Contact for questions about:

  • High impact activities for undergraduates including:
  • Honors activities
  • Research
  • Study abroad
  • Leadership
  • Internships

Dean's Advisory Council

Key Progress Indicators

Key Progress Indicators (KPIs) provide objective measures of progress toward the core mission of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. Data are collected annually to derive indicators that align with the university and the Board of Regents.

LAS Enrollment

KPI 2016 - Enrollment
Fall undergraduate and graduate student 10th day enrollment.
View data and source

Student Credit Hours

KP 2016 - Student credit hours
All student credit hours.
View data and source

Degrees Conferred

KPI 2016 - Degrees confered
Bachelor's, Master's, and PhD degrees awarded.
View data and source


KPI 2016 - Faculty
Fall census tenured/tenure-eligible and non-tenured Full Time Equivalent (FTE) and Headcount.
View data and source