Iowa State University Bioscience Innovation Postdoctoral Fellows

The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at Iowa State has established the Iowa State University Bioscience Innovation Postdoctoral Fellowship with the generous support of the Roy J. Carver Charitable Trust.  Bioscience Fellows will contribute to breakthrough science in biomedically focused research groups and become part of a vibrant research culture.  A Bioscience Innovation Postdoctoral Fellow will have a doctorate awarded within the last 3 years in a field related to the research needs of the selected biomedical group(s).  Selected Fellows will receive a highly competitive stipend ($60,000 plus fringe benefits annually) and the opportunity to work alongside highly-respected researchers.  In addition to a significant laboratory experience, Fellows also will receive important mentoring and career preparation.  A Fellow will receive professional development support up to $10,000 annually to travel to conferences or workshops, to conduct research or to network off site.

At Iowa State, multiple departments come together to serve as the university’s hub for basic biological sciences and biomedical research. These include the Departments of Genetics, Development and Cell Biology (GDCB); Chemistry; Ecology, Evolution and Organismal Biology (EEOB); and the Roy J. Carver Department of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology (BBMB).  From immunology to cancer to neurodegenerative and infectious diseases, Iowa State investigators are making significant strides to advance scientific understanding and improve human health.

Participating Bioscience Innovation Projects include:

To apply, applicants should submit to

  1. a cover letter and statement of interest in one or more of the listed Bioscience Innovation Projects, not to exceed 1,000 words,
  2. a description of Ph.D. research accomplishments (up to 500 words),
  3. a CV, and
  4. contact information for at least three references, including relationship with the applicant.

Applications that arrive by November 26, 2018 will receive full consideration.