Awards for Faculty & Staff

The University and College Awards program honors outstanding faculty and staff each year who have demonstrated their commitment to the land-grant ideals of learning, discovery and engagement. These awards represent the highest recognition that Iowa State bestows upon its faculty and staff for their accomplishments.

Although some awards allow for direct nomination, most nominations route through the academic colleges (see the individual descriptions). Past recipients are not eligible to receive the same LAS award again.

Nomination deadlines for the LAS College

For Distinguished, Morrill and University Professor: December 1*

For all other awards: December 15*

*Or the following Monday when the due date falls on a weekend


All materials need to be submitted electronically to Julie Palmer.

The following websites have additional information on the various university awards and criteria:

Links to Previous Award Recipients

Faculty Awards

Professional and Scientific Staff Awards

Merit Staff Awards